Clear Sky Connections

Chief David McDougal, St. Theresa Point, Chairperson

A member of St Theresa Point, one of the four First Nations of ILTC located with Island Lake Tribal Council ancestral territories in Manitoba. Educated and firmly rooted in traditional lifestyles of his people.

His formal education comprises of Primary and Secondary education in St Theresa Point and in Winnipeg, graduated from Gordon Bell High School. He received his Post-secondary education at Brandon University, graduating with a Bachelor of General Studies degree and subsequently earned a certificate in Education within the Province of Manitoba.

His previous employment history includes: Classroom Teacher, School Administrator, Band Councillor, working with MKO and FAI Education table, Island Lake Tribal Council in the development and planning of the medical receiving home, AMC First Nation Inter-Governmental Health Council Project Coordinator, AMC - ICMFNH Health Policy Analyst/Researcher and most recently at MFNERC as PHP Specialist.

Recently commenced current term as Chief of St Theresa Point First Nation for the fourth (4) occasion during the period 2002 to present, during which times he served on various chief’s committees including Chief’s Task Force on Health, Diabetes Integrated Project Board Member, MFNERC Board Member, Neewin Health Ex-officio Board Member, ILTC Board Chairman, as well as being a member of both MKO and AMC Chiefs Executive Councils.

As one of his life-long passions, he continues to work to improve First Nation situations.


Chief David Crate C.M., Fisher River Cree Nation, Vice Chairperson

Chief David Crate was first elected to Council in 1985 and became Chief in 1989. Now in his 29th year, he has participated in numerous projects that have improved the community. These projects include the establishment of a Healing Center, Water and Sewer Treatment Facility, Car Wash/Laundry Mat, Fitness Centre, Castle Building Supplies Store and most recently, the Bay River Inn & Suites. 

Chief Crate was also involved in a joint venture project with the Province of Manitoba for the development of 88 cottage lots in Fisher River. Focusing on long term planning and community development, currently Chief Crate and Council are implementing a 20 year community plan. This plan includes upgrading of local road, infrastructure and drainages for the Fisher River Cree Nation community.

Chief Crate’s dedication to all Manitoba First Nation’s (MFN) include his work with the Assembly of Manitoba Chief’s Gaming Committee, members of the Executive Council of Chiefs, Co-chairing the MFN Technology Council and the MFN ICT Training Initiatives Inc..

In August of 2011 and in August of 2016, Chief Crate and Council brought the National Cree Gathering to the community of Fisher River Cree Nation. The Cree Gathering highlights Cree ceremonies, traditions, and teachings.

In February 2012, Chief Crate was appointed to the board of Manitoba Hydro. It was also in 2012 the Frontier Centre for Public Policy ranted Chief Crate’s community of Fisher River Cree Nation 6th in the Aboriginal governance index within the prairie provinces and number one in Manitoba overall. 

In June 2013, Chief Crate was appointed to the National Aboriginal Economic Development Board by the Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development of Canada (AANDC).

In November 2013, Chief Crate’s community was approved to become a Borrowing Member of the First Nations Finance Authority (FNFA).

Chief Crate was awarded with the Manitoba Crocus Award for Conservation for his work on the Fisher Bay Park and is also a recipient of the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal in the merit category for Public Service. 

In December, 2017,  Gov. Gen. Julie Payette announced the latest list of 124 remarkable Canadians to be inducted into the Order of Canada for outstanding achievements, dedication to community and service to the nation. One of those 124 remarkable Canadians is Fisher River Cree Nation Chief David Crate.


Our Team

Lisa Clarke, Bsc, BA


Chief Executive Officer 

Phone: 204-410-3376 | Fax: 204-815-5435


Ehigie Agbator, MBA, BSc, Prince 2, ITIL-F


Business Development Manager

Direct Line: 204-410-3375 |  Fax: 204-815-5435


Lindsay Catcheway


Finance and Executive Assistant

Direct Line: 204-410-3362 |  Fax: 204-815-5435


Tosin Kolade, PMP, Prince 2


Business Analyst

Direct Line: 204-410-3360 | Fax: 204-815-5435


Nicole Gossfeld


Administrative Assistant

Direct Line: 204-410-3400 | Fax: 204-815-5435


Bill Murdoch, C.I.M., CSM, MCSE:2012 SI/CPI, MCTS, MCITP:EA/SA/EDA7/EDST7, MCSE:2003+Sec, CCNA, CCDA, Sec+, ITIL-F, A+, CIWSA, CIWSP, CIWSS, PR2F, PR2P, Prosci



IT Manager

Direct Line: 204-410-3948 | Fax: 204-815-5435